My Shadow

My last two mountain bike rides have had plenty of sunlight which resulted in a couple of opportunities for me to race my shadow while on the trails (Lake Crabtree County Park and the Carolina North Forest Trail system). It also inspired a little poem below. I hope you enjoy! 

gpexportphoto-0018-2
This was taken during a ride at Lake Crabtree County Park using a GoPro Hero+

I see you there, stretching across the ground

Only a few yards ahead, but forever out of reach

The harder I work and the more effort I exert,

So you do too. Grinding away, as much as I do.

While the sun is out, you are too

Sometimes you are ahead (with the sun on our backs)

Sometimes you are behind (when we face the sun)

But, you are never ahead or behind, by very much

However, when the sun goes down or hides behind a cloud

You’ll give in and won’t be found. And who then,

My fair-weather friend, will I race?

Without my shadow upon the ground

gpexportphoto-0002-2
This was taken during a ride at the Carolina North Forest (CNF) trail system using a GoPro Hero+
Leave a Reply

