Athena’s Adventure to New Hope

This post has been a little delayed in reaching publication. Mostly, I fell into the age old habit of shooting some epic GoPro footage and then leaving it on my computer unedited for a couple of weeks. So, this morning I finally had some time to work on the photo and video edits. 

About two weeks ago, Michelle and I took Athena on a trip to Jordan Lake where we hiked the New Hope loop and let Athena go swimming. It was a beautiful and warm February day. You can watch the video of Athena’s adventure here.

* * *

The past week has been unbelievably boring! We have gone on no adventures or even squirrel patrols around the lake. Both of my two-leggers just choose to lie around all day sniffling, coughing, and blowing their noses. The male two-legger who loves stealing my rope hasn’t even had the energy for that! I fear they may both be broken forever.

However, there seems to have been a change in their demeanor, recently. I noticed the change in energy on Friday night as my male two-legger started stealing my toys and throwing them all over the place again (he seems to find it highly amusing to THROW MY STUFF everywhere and watch me pick up after him). Then we spent all of Saturday napping on the porch swing in the sun. I made sure to sleep on top of both my two-leggers to guarantee that they wouldn’t abandon me like they do during the week.

collagetest
Some good action shots of Athena running through the water.

After a long week of minimal activity and a day of lounging on the porch, I was really beginning to grow restless. So naturally, I started stealing shoes and slippers and hiding them in my lair (underneath the coffee table). Sunday arrived with the sun shining, the earth was warm, and everything was starting to smell of spring (in February). I DESPERATELY NEEDED AN ADVENTURE!

I can only assume mom and dad knew this because after a Sunday afternoon nap on the swing the male two-legger asked if I wanted to go swimming. (I can only assume that stealing their shoes and slippers successfully communicated my boredom and will continue using this communication system in the future.) I LOVE SWIMMING! And I love car rides! And in order to go swimming, we needed to go on a car ride first!

collagetest2
Athena blowing bubbles in Jordan Lake

The two-leggers loaded me into the adventure mobile and so I naturally posted up in the shotgun seat. Mom than told me to get in the back, but I didn’t want to sit back there so I ignored her. But then she tried to SIT ON ME! In order to avoid being crushed, I leapt into the back! I guess mom doesn’t know that I am supposed to ride shotgun in dad’s car. Oh well, I will just let them both pretend to be the alphas for this car ride. It’s good for their self-esteem.

After an eternity of driving we arrived at my favorite swimming hole: Jordan Lake. My two-leggers always bring me here during the summer to cool off. We started off down the New Hope trail and I immediately charged to the front leading the way as ‘first-leader.’ Now the two-leggers could ride in the back!

collagetest3
Another sequence of Athena running through the lake.

Our first stop was a little off the beaten path. We veered right, then left, and every which way in between to navigate the brush. Mom, who was holding my tether, refused to follow my lead and kept causing us to get stuck around trees by going the wrong way. In the distance I could see the water getting closer and could barely contain my excitement. But, my two-leggers refused to free me from my tether. Oh, the torture!

They ordered me to sit, but I couldn’t with all of this energy building inside of me. The two-leggers were insistent, so I compromised with a wriggling-worm of a crouch. This seemed to appease them as I heard the blissful words, “Go play.”

And I was gone! The muddy sand flying all around as I leapt in the waves and excavated rocks. Dig, dig, DIG! Splash, splash, SPLASH! My forelges became a furry as I dug through the clay. Soon, my white spots turned to brown, but I would just wash the mud off with a run through the lake. I even made sure to include mom and dad by shaking the mud and water off next to them. I’m sure they loved being included!

DCIM100GOPRO
Athena digging for rocks

I thought this first swimming hole was awesome, but it was nothing compared to the second spot. We stopped at the New Hope Overlook where I tried to make some friends. They were floating on the water, but they wouldn’t bring their kayaks in to see me. No matter how much I begged. So, I decided to run alongside them as they drifted by me and I even thought about swimming out to see them. But, mom and dad said I couldn’t swim to see out there. Sadily, I had to just watch the floating two-leggers drift on by.

But, my sadness was short-lived as I began investigating the landscape of this new place. The lake had eroded the shoreline and turned the clay into a rock-like substances. Some parts were hard and rounded, while other parts were soft and malleable. There were even small fissures that one could pretend were canyons (if you were truly imaginative). My tail slowly started to wag as I knew what a dog must do here.

Flexing my paws, claws digging into the muddy clay I took a steadying breathe and took off! Running at a full sprint I climbed the bank and jumped the gaps, then landing at full speed on the other side. From the top of the bank, I would sprint down the slope and through the water just so I could one more charge back to the top. This time instead of running I decided it would be better to leap and fly from the highest part of the bank. Then, it was time for my best jump. I was sprinting towards the canyon when dad decided to stand directly in the center of my path. There was only once choice before me; I had to leap over dad, so I did!

collagetest4
Athena thought it would be fun to hurdle me at one point. At least I got this awesome photo!

Before we could leave this swimming hole, I had to inform all it was mine. To do this meant I must destroy a stick. I found one buried in the mud and I bit down hard giving it a tug. But, the stick refused to budge! So I pulled even harder and let out a growl (letting the stick know that my will would not be thwarted), until at last it gave with a loud resounding CRACK!

After leaping dad and destroying my stick, it was time for us to hike back to the adventure mobile. But, I knew my two-leggers were tired from our adventures, so I made sure to stop for extra smells allowing them to catch their breath. Once we were home I immediately sought out my throune where I curled up to nap. And during my nap, I vaguely heard the tv getting louder as the two-leggers increased the volume to be heard over my snores.

wp-1488650736910.jpeg
Athena zonked out immediately after we got home. She was so tired!
5 thoughts on “Athena’s Adventure to New Hope

Leave a Reply

